Isaiah Graham-Mobley and Prince Emili Named Semifinalists for The Campbell Trophy

October 1, 2020 –

Two local football players have been named as semifinalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy® Presented by Mazda, which is awarded annually to the nation’s top football scholar-athlete. Isaiah Graham-Mobley and Prince Emili from the University of Pennsylvania are part of an all-time record 199 semifinalists for the Campbell Trophy. The announcement was made today.

The candidates must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.

“First and foremost, I am extremely honored to be a semifinalist for the Walter Campbell trophy, and thankful for the opportunity that Temple football has granted me these past four years,” Graham-Mobley said. “This just embodies the impact that others have had on me. The people who surround me have given me the opportunity to see the brightness in life. I have always wanted to positively affect those who come in contact with me on and off the field. I tend to enjoy when others are able to feed off the energy that I embody.”

Graham-Mobley has been one of the most productive Temple players both on and off the field. He was the team’s third leading tackler in 2018 with 70 and was among the team leaders in the 2019 before missing the last five games with an injury. He reached these marks despite being a non-starter. He was the first non-starter in school history to earn a single-digit jersey – an honor reserved for Temple’s toughest players. Graham-Mobley, from Upper Merion, is a graduate student with a bachelor’s degree in media studies and production.

Emili was named First Team All-Ivy last season finishing with 65 tackles, 14 for a loss, and sacked the quarterback 4.5 times.

“Prince is an outstanding young man, student-athlete and leader in our community,” said George A. Munger Head Coach Ray Priore. “He has worked tirelessly since his arrival on campus. He has excelled both on the field and in the classroom. Prince is a great role model and an example that you can have success in all areas of the student-athlete experience here at Penn.”

The Campbell Trophy® Presented by Mazda is a member of the National College Football Awards Association, which is responsible for the most renowned awards in college football. Previous winners of the award include Justin Herbert (Oregon), Peyton Manning (Tennessee), Chad Pennington (Marshall), and Tim Tebow (Florida).

The National Football Foundation will announce the finalists in November, with Graham-Mobley having an opportunity to receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 2020 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class Presented by Fidelity Investments. Shortly after that, one member will be declared the winner of the “Academic Heisman”, having his scholarship increased to $25,000 and earning an appearance on the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN.

Written By: Glenn Papazian


Isaiah Graham-Mobley

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.