Big Five 2019-20 Men’s Basketball Awards

April 15, 2020

The Big Five announced its men’s basketball award winners for the 2019-20 season. Villanova forward Saddiq Bey won the Player of the Year Award while fellow frontcourt mate Jeremiah Robinson-Earl was chosen as the Rookie of the Year. Wildcats Coach Jay Wright earned the Coach of the Year Award.

Led Coach Jay Wright Villanova won the Big Five along with a share of the Big East championship. Overall the team went 24 – 7 this past season. Bey was a member of the All-Big East team averaging 16.1 points per game. He led the team with 79 three-point baskets. Bey’s overall shooting percentage was .447 and made .451 from beyond the arc. Robinson-Earl averaged 10.6 points and 9.5 rebounds per game, and was the Big East Freshman of the Year.

Alani Moore II of Temple was selected as the Most Improved Player. He averaged 8.4 points per contest while adding 2.8 rebounds and 2.6 assists each time on the floor. Moore II had 40 steals.

Ryan Daly of Saint Joseph’s was the Big Five’s leading scorer getting 20.6 points per game paying 30 games this past season.

Fellow Hawks guard Myles Douglas was the leading free throw shooter making 61 of 70 for an 87.1 percentage. Tolliver Freeman was selected as the Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

The All-Big Five First Team selections were: Saddiq Bey, Villanova; AJ Broduer, Penn; Ryan Daly, Saint Joseph’s; Collin Gillespie, Villanova; Quinton Rose, Temple.

The All-Big Five Second Team consisted of: David Beatty, La Salle, Devon Goodman, Penn; Nate Pierre-Louis, Temple; Jeremiah Robinson-Earl, Villanova, and Jermaine Samuels, Villanova.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.