The Single Digit Award Winners for Temple

Players Awarded by Wearing a Single Digit

August 16, 2023

Temple football has a tradition started by Coach Al Golden in 2009. The “toughest players on the team” and those who best represent the Temple culture, are rewarded by being given a single-digit uniform number. The tradition continues as Coach Stan Drayton announced who will be given a single-digit number on Tuesday.

The definition behind the single digit is to; never be afraid of hard work, never make excuses or allow others to do so, be real leaders, and never accept anything but their best to support the culture both on and off the field.

“Unselfish, and have the willingness to pull people along with them through their words and their actions,” said Drayton defining the essence of the single-digit player.

Sigle digits players are decided by a vote from the team.

This year’s award winners;

#0 Yvandy Rigby – graduate linebacker who finished with 82 tackles last season, second-most on the team. His 16 tackles against Navy tied the conference lead for most tackles in a single-game.

#1 Ian Stewart – redshirt-sophomore wide receiver who caught his first touchdown pass against Lafayette. He suffered a season-ending injury three games later.

#2 Edward Saydee – graduate running back who set career-highs in multiple rushing and receiving yards in the win over USF. He had 265 rushing yards, a longest rush of 75 yards, 3 rushing touchdowns, and set his receiving yards mark of 69, also his longest reception. Saydee led the team in rushing attempts with 149 and 639 net rushing yards.

#3 E.J. Warner – sophomore quarterback who was named the American Athletic Conference Rookie of the Year. Warner completed his record breaking season with 268 completions, 3,028 yards and 18 touchdowns. His completions are the most in a season in program-history, and his passing yards are the second most in program history.

#4 Victor Stoffel – graduate offensive lineman who started the final seven games at right tackle after returning from an injury. Stoffel will wear #78 in games as offensive linemen must wear numbers from 50 – 79 as per the NCAA. He will wear #4 in practice.

#5 David Martin-Robinson – graduate tight end who was one of the five team captains from last season. He returned from injury to set a career-highs in receptions with 33, receiving yards (366) and 2 touchdowns.

#6 Jordan Magee – graduate linebacker who is another team captain from 2022. He led the team in tackles with 86. A collegiate-best of 12 came against Navy, followed by an 11-tackle performance against USF.

#7 Jalen McMurray – redshirt-sophomore cornerback who started every game at that position. He made 49 tackles, and led the team in pass breakups with seven.

#8 Alex Odom – junior safety who started in all 12 games in 2022. Odom recorded a career-best 75 tackles, third-most on the team. He tied for the team-lead in interceptions with a pair of pick-offs.

Magee and McMurray wore a single digit last season.

Temple opens the season on September 2 hosting Akron at Lincoln Financial Field.

Written By: Glenn Papazian


Edward Saydee who wore #23 will now be a Single-Digit player. He will be #2.
Photo Courtesy of Temple Football Strategic Communications

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.