Bright Stars of the 2022-23 Temple Athletics Season

July 14, 2023 –

This is a fourth in a series for the City Six athletics programs where we look back on the bright, shining stars from the athletic season.

We will name a Team of the year and Student Athlete for each school. In addition we will list an honor roll for the teams and student athletes. A team recognition will be noted by a championship, post season achievement, and / or a significant achievement. To be named as a player one should have a national award or honor, a league accolade, significant achievement, or team record.

Let’s take a look back at the past athletic season on North Broad Street and on the rivers.

Team of the Year: Temple Men’s Tennis

The Owls posted a record in the American Athletic Conference of 19 – 5. The team was raked #7 in the ITA Atlantic Region. Three players earned top-fifteen rankings in then ITA Atlantic Region. Leo Raquin (8th), Thibault Frumholz, and Marin Delmas (13) had outstanding seasons for the Cherry and White. The doubles pair of Raquin and Frumholz got a #9 ranking with a 20 – 6 overall record that included a record of 18 – 3 in dual play, to tie the second-most number of wins in program history. Delmas had a record of 19 – 9 in singles. More details about Raquin will follow.

Student – Athletes of the Year: Jamie Wei and Maiko Uchijima, Women’s Tennis the pair combined to be an effective team in doubles play posting a 27 – 4 record over the fall and spring seasons, and ranked as high as #5 in the nation. They became the first at-large team to reach the NCAA Regionals in school history. The Owls had not been represented in the national tournament since 2008 when they qualified as a team. Wei and Uchijima ended that streak. The team fell to Michigan in their initial tournament game. Uchijima was named the AAC Freshman of the Year, and won a place on the all-conference team.

Honor Roll Teams:

Temple Rowing

The men’s and women’s teams combined to score 136 points to win the Dad Vail Regatta Points trophy for the second time in school history. The men put up 106 points, the women added 30 to put the Owls on top. The last time the Cherry and White achieved the trophy was in 2019. Temple earned two gold medals; the 3rd Varsity 8 and the 2nd Varsity 4. The teams added 2 silver medals. The Third Varsity 8 boat The Marguerite covered the course in 5:55.106. Gabriel Lins (coxswain), Patrick Lamb (stroke), David Uhlig, Lukas Wojciechowski, Fran Bruzek, Dean Hargrove, Christopher Luff, Bruno Stehlik, and Logan Paulukow (bow) rowed the boat. The Mirabella won the Varsity 4 behind Grace Crosby (coxswain), Michael Donnellan, Jack Woodruff, Theodore Glenn, and Sebastian Gonzalez. The winning time was 6:46.413 in bringing home the Ken Shaw Trophy. Temple also scored in the Second Varsity 8 and Freshman Novice 8. The team capped the season earning a silver medal in the IRA National Championships when the Varsity 4 rowed a time of 7:06.789. The team was comprised of Ryan Brady (coxswain), Adam Oliver (stroke), Pascal Evans, Rares Nechita, and Kenneth Raynor (bow).

Student – Athletes Honor Roll

E.J. Warner, Football who was voted the American Athletic Conference Rookie of the Year to become the first Temple player to win this conference award. It was a record breaking season for Warner. He set the single-game passing yards mark with 527 against East Carolina. In that game he set a program-high completing 45 passes, and his five scoring tosses represented a personal-best. His top statistical effort. The 527 passing yards marked the only time an Owls quarterback threw for more than 500 yards in a game. He topped 400 yards on two occasions, a school record. And his three 300-yard games in one season is a program-most. Warner is ranked second at Temple for most passing yards in a single-season at 3,028.

Aleah Nelson, Women’s Basketball who started in all 29 games, and led the team in scoring (15.4 / game) and assists (4.4). Nelson also played the most minutes averaging 37 per game. She scored a season-high 33 points against Duquesne where Nelson made her season-most 7 three-pointers. Nelson handed out 9 assists against Wichita State.

Damian Dunn, Men’s Basketball who was named First Team All-Big Five. He averaged 15.3 points per game. He sank 48 from three-point land. Dunn has scored in double figures in 22 games, topping 20 points eight times.  He scored a career-high 38 points against Vanderbilt, the most by an Owls player since 2004, ninth best point total in program history. He also tallied 34 points at Cincinnati which allowed Dunn to reach the 1000th point plateau.

Belle Mastropietro, Women’s Lacrosse

The Temple senior was named as one of the AAC Midfielders of the Year. This is the second consecutive season that Mastropietro won the award. She led the midfielder position in the American with 39 goals and 20 assists for 59 points. Mastropietro won 94 draw controls. She ranked 2nd in the AAC in that category. In addition the midfielder ranks 4th in goals, 7th in assists, and 6th in points in the league. Mastropietro was the Owls team leader in those statistics. The Springfield, PA resident was on the Tewaaraton Watchlist. Mastropietro is the team captain and started all 16 games.

Leo Raquin, Men’s Tennis who finished the season ranked #8 with a 27 – 5 record. His 22 – 2 record in dual play is the highest win total of any Owl in school history.

Laura Nicholson, Women’s Track and Cross Country who earned All-Conference honors in Cross Country finishing in 14th place. In the outdoor season Nicholson competed in the 1500m run. She won the AAC 1500m championship with a time of 4:20.43. Nicholson qualified for the NCAA East Regional, and ran a time of 4:23.68 in the national quarterfinal round to end her season. In the opening NCAA East round run Nicholson crossed the finish line in 4:20.54 to advance to the quarterfinal round.

Allie Riches, Women’s Track & Field who set her seventh program record of the season in the pole vault with a height of 4.07m. Riches qualified to compete in the East Regional.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.