All-Philly Women’s College Basketball Teams and Awards Players of the Year

Mia Davis

Mia Davis – Temple – The junior forward was named as a U.S. Basketball Writers Association All-America Honorable Mention, the fifth player in Owls history to achieve such an honor. She was a unanimous selection to the American Athletic Conference first team, and was a top-ten finalist for the Cheryl Miller award. Davis led her team in scoring at 18.8 points per game, in rebounds with just over ten per contest, free throws attempted and made (127 of 164), and in minutes played averaging over 35 per game. Davis recorded 18 double-doubles over the season.

Bailey Greenberg

Bailey Greenberg – Drexel – The senior forward from North Wales, PA. led the team in scoring at 17.3 points per game in being named a unanimous All-CAA First Team selection. Greenberg was also the team leader in rebounds with 5.6 per contest (169 total caroms), converted 43 of 110 made three-pointers, in free throw shooting making 105 of 121 (86.8%), and played 1,065 minutes in thirty games. She was a double-figures scorer in 26 games over the season.

Rookie of the Year

Maddy Siegrist

Maddy Siegrist – Villanova – The redshirt freshman had a huge impact on the team over the course of the season. Siegrist broke the single season scoring record by a freshman with 583 points previously set by Shelly Pennefather in the 1983-84 season. The forward from Poughkeepsie, NY was an All-Big East first team selection. She led the team in scoring getting 18.8 points per game, rebounds at 277, and was good on 62 of 191 three-point shots. Siegrist posted 11 double-double over the course of the season. Her career-best was a 41 point performance in December.

Coaches of the Year

Harry Perretta – Villanova – Concluding his 42nd and final season on the Main Line, Perretta coached inexperienced team at the start of the season to a third place tie in the conference, and also earned a share of the Big Five title. In the last home game Perretta earned his 780th career-win when the team upset #12 DePaul in their final home game of the season, the final home game for the Coach. Perretta has 781 career victories. He was named the winner of the Carol Eckman Integrity in Coaching Award.

Denise Dillon – Drexel – The Dragons won a share of the CAA Season championship and claimed the top-seed on the post-season tournament. It was the third regular season title for Drexel under Coach Dillon. She was awarded the CAA Co-Coach of the Year, the fourth time she was named for the honor. Drexel posted a 23 – 7 record, the second most regular-season victories in program-history. It was their fourth straight 20-win season. During the season the Dragons had a 13-game win streak, the third longest at the school.

First Team

Mia Davis – Temple

Bailey Greenberg – Drexel

Maddy Siegrist – Villanova

Mary Gedaka – Villanova

Kayla Padilla – Penn

Second Team (alphabetical order)

Aubree Brown – Drexel

Ashley Jones – Temple

Shalina Miller – La Salle

Eleah Parker – Penn

Kayla Spruill – La Salle

Phoebe Sterba – Penn

Third Team (alphabetical order)

Kendall Grasela – Penn

Claire Jacobs – La Salle

Katie Jekot – Saint Joseph’s

Marissa Mackins – Temple

Gabby Smalls – Saint Joseph’s

Keishana Washington – Drexel

Honorable Mention

Kaliah Henderson – Saint Joseph’s

Bridget Herlihy – Villanova

Katie Hill – La Salle

Amy Jacobs – La Salle

Cameron Onken – Villanova

Lula Roig – Saint Joseph’s

Selections were made by Glenn Papazian,, Mel Greenberg, Women’s Hoop Guru, and Matt Leon, KYW Newsradio

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.