Philly College Sports – All Area Women’s Basketball Team

BROOMALL, PA 4/11/2012 – The Philly College Sports All-Area Division I Women’s Basketball team is announced.

Shey Peddy
Laura Sweeney

There are three All-Division I teams and featured awards.  This season will have Co-Players of the Year in Temple guard Shey Peddy and Villanova forward Laura Sweeney. 


Peddy won the Atlantic 10 Player of the Year award and Atlantic 10 Defensive Player of the Year.  She was the team and conference leader this season with 17.6 points per game. She averaged 3.1 steals per game to lead the team to rank second in the A-10.

Sweeney was the leading scorer for the Big Five Champion Wildcats averaging 14.4 points per game and 7.6 rebounds to lead the team in both categories.  Sweeney had seven 20-point games and eight double-doubles.  She was named first team All-Big Five.

Harry Perretta is named as our Coach of the Year.  He guided the team to the outright Big Five title this season, the 13th in school history.  This season Perretta became the 35th coach in the history of women’s college basketball to win 600 games.

Harry Perretta

Penn forward Kara Bonenberger is our Rookie of the Year.  Bonenberger played in all 28 games for Penn averaging 8.4 points per game.  She also had 5.8 rebounds per game to lead the team.  Bonenberger is the second consecutive Penn player to win the Philly College Rookie of the Year.

This season a Most Courageous Award is presented to Penn forward Jess Knapp who finished her senior season playing with an injured knee.  Knapp declined to have surgery on the knee in order to play the last games of her college career.

The award winners and teams are named by Glenn Papazian of Philly College and Mel Greenberg.  The eligible honorees are in the six Division I teams (LaSalle, Penn, Saint Joseph’s, Temple, Villanova, and Drexel). The award winners and teams are listed below.

Player of the Year – Shey Peddy, Temple and Laura Sweeney, Villanova
Coach of the Year – Harry Perretta, Villanova
Rookie of the Year – Kara Bonenberger, Penn
Most Courageous – Jess Knapp, Penn
First Team
Laura Sweeney – Villanova
Shey Peddy – Temple
Michelle Baker – Saint Joseph’s
Alyssa Baron – Penn
Kamile Nacickaite – Drexel
Second Team
Hollie Mershon – Drexel
Brittany Wilson – LaSalle
Kristen McCarthy – Temple
Kelly Cavallo – Saint Joseph’s
Katie Kuester – Saint Joseph’s
Third Team
Victoria Macaulay – Temple
B.J. Williams – Temple
Alexis Scott – LaSalle
Ashley Prim – Saint Joseph’s
Rachel Roberts – Villanova
Lauren Burford – Villanova
Kara Bonenberger
Jess Knapp


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.