Villanova’s Maddy Siegrist Named to Katrina McClain Award Watch List

November 12, 2020 –

Villanova sophomore forward Maddy Siegrist has been named to the top twenty watch list by Basketball Hall of Fame and Women’s Basketball Coaches Association for the Katrina McClain Award that recognizes the top power forward in the nation.

The previous winners of the award include Ruthie Hebard of Oregon, Napheesa Collier from Connecticut, and Oregon’s Ruthy Hebard.

The Katrina McClain Award is part of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards as part of this group include; the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award, the Lisa Leslie Center Award.

Siegrist averaged a team-best 19.3 points per game and a team-leading 9.1 rebounds in each contest. She was the unanimous Big East Rookie of the Year and first team member. Siegrist was the Philadelphia Big Five Rookie of the Year and was placed on the first team All-Big Five.

In her record breaking freshman year Siegrist set the program records for most twenty-point games (15) by a freshman and most points in a rookie season at 578.

She led the team in made three-point field goals sinking 62 from beyond the arc.

Siegrist was named as a preseason All-Big East first team player.

Local player Natalie Kucowski of Lafayette also was named to the watch list.

Written By: Glenn Papazian


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.