Philly Women’s College Basketball Season Awards

The Awards for the 2023-24 Season

March 27, 2024 –

Players of the Year

Lucy Olsen, Villanova who is an AP All-American Honorable Mention and ranks third in the country in scoring. Olsen is mainstay for the Villanova offense. She has scored thirty or more points in a game ten times this season and had a career-high 40 against Temple. Olsen averages 23.6 points per game, and is successful on .445 percent of her shots (292 of 656)This season she has totaled 756 points. She led the Big East in scoring for both conference and all games. The junior guard leads the team in minutes (1,158), made three-pointers (51), free throws made (121), and steals (60). Olsen also tied for the highest number of assists to this point handing out 121. This season she was named All-Big East First team and is the league’s Most Improved Player.

Talya Brugler, Saint Joseph’s who is leading the Hawks in scoring averaging 15.5 points per game and in scoring at 512 points. She scored a season-high 30 points against UMass. The junior forward leads the SJU team in minutes (1,097), made field goals (196) with a percentage of .537 (196 of 365). Brugler has gone to the foul line 124 times and made 107, both team-leading, and has a team-top percentage of .863 from the line. Brugler leads the team in assists with 82. The forward has pulled down 146 rebounds, and has 25 steals and blocked shots. She was named second-team All-Atlantic 10.

Coaches of the Year

Cindy Griffin, Saint Joseph’s

Diane Richardson, Temple

Rookie of the Year

Mataya Gayle, Penn

Newcomer of the Year

Chloe Welch, Saint Joseph’s

First Team

Lucy Olsen, Villanova

Talya Brugler, Saint Joseph’s

Laura Ziegler, Saint Joseph’s

Aleah Nelson, Temple

Jordan Obi, Penn

Stina Almqvist, Penn

Second Team

Brooke Mullin, Drexel

Tiarra East, Temple

Mackenzie Smith, Saint Joseph’s

Chloe Welch, Saint Joseph’s

Rayne Tucker, Temple

Christina Dalce, Villanova

Third Team

Bella Runyan, Villanova

Demi Washington, Temple

Mataya Gayle, Penn

Makayla Miller, La Salle

Amaris Baker, Drexel

Tarriyonna Gary, Temple

Honorable Mention

Maddie Webber, Villanova

Grace O’Neill, Drexel

Nicole Melious, La Salle

Molly Masciantonio, La Salle

Selections are made by: Glenn Papazian.; Mel Greenberg, WomHoopsGuru; Noreen Dougherty, Sports Podcaster.

Lucy Olsen – Photo Courtesy of Villanova Media Relations
Talya Brugler

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.