Cabrini Wins NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Championship

PHILADELPHIA, PA 5/26/2019 – The Cabrini Cavaliers won the 2019 Men’s Lacrosse Division III title with a thrilling 16 – 12 win over Amherst at Lincoln Financial Field, the first team NCAA title in school history. The game was close throughout and the statistics were nearly even. The Cavaliers took the lead for good behind an outburst by Kyle Tucker who scored three of four goals in the third and fourth quarter. The sophomore attackman was named the tournament Most Outstanding Player.

“It is an unbelievable opportunity to play on this stage, to have an opportunity to compete against some of the best teams in the country and ultimately come out with a team that is able to hoist the championship,” said Cabrini Coach Steve Colfer. “It’s special for our university, for our athletic department, and it is obviously special for the lacrosse program.”

It was not the first time on the big stage for a Cabrini team or athlete. The men’s basketball team went to the NCAA Division III title game. Tony Gregory won the 2006 Indoor Triple Jump championship. It was the first time for the #6 seeded Cavaliers men’s lacrosse team. The Radnor based school earned the trip to the Final Four upsetting the #2 Salisbury State Seagulls in Maryland.

The Amherst College Mammoths, a 7-seed, also played in their initial men’s lacrosse final.

The Mammoths had control early in the game. The Cavaliers needed a three-goal run to tie the game at 6 going into halftime.

“In the first half we were a little shaky, but we were confident because the score was tied,” said Tucker. “Then we knew we were better in the second half when it comes to offense. We feel more more connections and spacing within our team and we were able to do that in the third quarter, and worked it all the way through to the end.”

Amherst went ahead early in the third quarter. Cabrini tied it on a goal by Bill Morgan, a senior attackman from Marple-Newtown High School, assisted by Tucker. The Cavs went ahead on a goal by attackman Jordan Krug for their first lead.

Amherst tied it again when Evan Wolf, a Lower Merion graduate, found the back of the net at the 11:18 mark. Tucker would take over from there. He scored the next two goals, then following a score by Tyler Kostack, another Marple-Newtown alum, Tucker gave his team a 2-goal lead at 12 – 10 with 14:01 to play.

Cabrini closed the game on a 4 – 2 run to take home the trophy.

Morgan also tallied 3 goals with Kostack and Krug netting 2 each. Krug assisted on three scores. Timmy Brooks, a Haverford School grad, also scored twice, his second was the eventual game-winner. Brooks came back from an early season injury that nearly ended his career.

Nine different Cavaliers got a goal. Goalie Riley White made 11 saves.

Four Amherst players scored twice; Wolf, Jackson Herrick, Jon Coffey, and Matt Solberg, who also was credited with 2 assists.

Cabrini men’s lacrosse is the first team to bring a championship to the school.

“It’s an unreal feeling,” Tucker said. “I don’t have words to describe it. All I could do is put my hands on my head and think about how unbelievable this experience is.”

And for a Philly team to do it at the Linc, it was extra special. For Colfer he stood not too far in front of the seat he had for the Eagles – Vikings NFC Championship game. Then spoke to Jason Kelce, a team supporter.

“Okay now, the ball is back in your court,” Colfer said to the Eagles center. “The Eagles have to go back and get us another Super Bowl next year. He looked at me and laughed, but he didn’t say no.”

Written By: Glenn Papazian


The Cabrini Cavaliers and Their Fans Celebrate the Division III Men’s Lacrosse Championship

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.