All-Area Women’s Basketball Season Awards

Maddy Siegrist Named Player of the Year, Denise Dillon Coach of the Year, Laura Ziegler Rookie of the Year

March 29, 2023 –

Player of the Year: Maddy Siegrist, Villanova who earned First Team All-America honors this season. She was the leading scorer in the nation this season in points per game (29.2) and in total points with 1,081. Siegrist won the Big East Player of the Year and Scholar-Athlete award. In each game Villanova played this season Siegrist scored 20 or more points, and recorded a career-best 50 points against Seton Hall. On January 20th the senior forward became the all-time leading scorer in Villanova basketball history for both men’s and women’s basketball. She finished her career with 2.896 points. The forward tops the list in scoring in the Big Five and the Big East. This past season Siegrist led Villanova in scoring, rebounding at 1,012, minutes played with 1,315, and made three-pointers at 403 (51%). She is a candidate for the Wade Trophy and the Wooden Award. Siegrist was named the Philadelphia Sportswriters Association Amateur Athlete of the Year.

Coach of the Year – Denise Dillon, Villanova who coached the team to a 30 – 7 record this season, and a 17 – 3 record in the Big East. The team gained the #10 national ranking. She earned her 400th coaching victory. Villanova was awarded a bid to the NCAA Tournament and hosted the first and second round games. The season concluded in the Sweet 16 for the Wildcats in Greenville, SC.

Rookie of the Year – Laura Ziegler – Saint Joseph’s who won the Atlantic 10 and ECAC Rookie of the Year awards. Ziegler, from Herlev, Denmark, averaged 11.8 points per game netting a total of 36, and led the team in made three-pointers with 41 from beyond the arc. Ziegler topped the team in rebounds at 271 (58 offensive) and blocked shots swatting away 42.

First Team

Maddy Siegrist, Villanova

Keishana Washington, Drexel

Talya Brugler, Saint Joseph’s

Kayla Padilla, Penn

Lucy Olsen, Villanova

Second Team

Maura Hendrixson, Drexel

Mackenzie Smith, Saint Joseph’s

Kayla Spruill, La Salle

Jordan Obi, Penn

Christina Dalce, Villanova

Third Team

Aleah Nelson, Temple

Claire Jacobs, La Salle

Tiarra East, Temple

Brooke Mullin, Villanova

Molly Masciantonio, La Salle

Honorable Mention

Tarriyonna Gary, Temple

Katie Jekot, Saint Joseph’s

Olivia Mullins, Saint Joseph’s

Laura Ziegler, Saint Joseph’s

Mandy McGurk, Penn

Grace O’Neill, Drexel

Kylie Lavelle, Drexel

All Freshman Team

Laura Zielger, Saint Joseph’s

Mia Jacobs, La Salle

Kylie Lavelle, Drexel

Grace O’Neill, Drexel

Simone Sawyer – Penn

Selections Made by Glenn Papazian (, Mel Greenberg (WomHoops Guru), Matt Leon (KYW Newsradio), and Noreen Dougherty (Women’s Basketball Podcaster).

Maddy Siegrist – Photo Courtesy of Villanova Media Relations

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.